How to create a secret chat on Telegram and switch on end-to-end encryption

Spread the love

Although Telegram has better privacy features than WhatsApp, end-to-end encryption is not the default option and has to be turned on. There is also a way to create a secret chat on the app.

With the entire privacy and user data security debate due to WhatsApp’s new privacy policy, many users have picked up a telegram or signal to move instead of messages. Now, Telegram and Signal both come with better privacy features than WhatsApp and both apps collect less user data than Facebook-owned apps.

We already told you why you’ll choose signal, today we are getting to tell you ways to show on end-to-end encryption for Telegram and begin a secret chat thereon .


For starters, end-to-end encryption (e2e) isn’t a default feature in Telegram. Cloud chat, which Telegram calls its standard chat, is not encrypted end-to-end. So if you do not activate e2e, Telegram has access to metadata (what you wrote, how often, when, etc.) and therefore the content of those chats. Telegram has stated that it doesn’t use this data for advertising but you’ll never know when it’d change.


How to create secret chat in telegram

Telegram has end-to-end encryption, just you need to enable it. Telegram calls with end-to-end encryption are called secret chats.


– Open the profile of the person with whom you want to start a chat to create a secret chat.


– Click on the icon with three dots just below the person’s profile photo.


– Select “Start a secret chat”.


This opens a chat where end-to-end encryption is applied to the messages, you will see a notification, which will initially appear in the chat window.

You can also set the time after which messages in this secret chat will be deleted by tapping or clicking on the clock icon in the message input box.

Automatic deletion of messages does not prevent your chat partner from taking screenshots, but if they do, you will be notified about it in the chat.

Although there is an exception here, if the other person is using the macOS app, you will not get a screenshot notification.

Telegram allows multiple secret chats with the same person and group chats also cannot be secret.